Each year, the Virden Indoor Rodeo & Wild West Daze recognizes a worthy individual for their contributions towards the local horse industry with induction into the Horsemen’s Hall of Fame.

Receiving the honour in 2013 is Geraldine (Gerry) Fowler.

A knowledgeable horsewoman in her own right, she has played a key supportive role in many horse-related organizations in and around Virden for decades. Her personal experience with horses and her willingness to organize and do the office work made her invaluable to clubs and organizations including the Virden Indoor Rodeo & Wild West Daze, where she served as Secretary-Treasurer for 10 years.

Growing up, Gerry’s family had saddle horses, but was best known in the show world for their hackneys, and Gerry enjoyed driving them very much.

Shows and events of any kind do not happen without hours spent keeping records, phoning and organizing. Gerry was a founding member and secretary of the Virden Riding Club, and over its 45 year history held all other executive positions at one time or another. She has been a director of the Virden Agricultural Society for 33 years. She served as Secretary-Treasurer for the Western Hackney Association for over 11 years. In the 1970’s she was a 4-H leader, and also worked with the Manitoba Gymkhana Rodeo Association. For 15 years, Gerry acted as Secretary of the Manitoba Light Horse Association.

Over the years, and for numerous organizations, Geraldine has kept track of entries and judging results, kept horses and people organized, all the while enjoying all things equine.



2023 AWARD Shawne Hagan
2022 AWARD Faye and Daryl Horn
2019 AWARD Kim and Grant Gee
2018 AWARD Cathy Gerrand and Duncan Campbell
2017 AWARD Everett More
2016 AWARD Jim and Elaine Hyde
2015 AWARD Rick and Paddy White
2014 AWARD Doug Sexsmith
2013 AWARD Geraldine Fowler
2012 AWARD Morris Clarke
2011 AWARD Lyle Brown
2010 AWARD Darrell Nolan
2009 AWARD Sherald Joynt
2007 AWARD Donna Hunter
2006 AWARD Wilf Dryden / Murray Peel
2005 AWARD Betty Joseph / Don Gee


Ron & Merle Coleman Arnie Andrews Ray Dryden
Dino Fontana Ken Brown Don Brown
Don Brown Bea Lowe Wilf Van Loo
Bob and Arlene Ross Jack and Carol Forsyth Betty Joseph
Wilf Dryden Donna Hunter Darryl Nolan
Orville Fowler John Clarke Bill and Pearl Brown
Lloyd Robinson Stu Taylor George Sproat
Ken Horn Vern MacFarlane Bill and Gail McQuaker
Ed Page Don and Marg Gee Murray Peel
Cecil Brown Sherald Joynt Lyle Brown