Over the years, Virden has become noted for excellence in almost all aspects of the horse world. This area has produced an abundance of quality animals, breeders, handlers and riders. Local horsemen and women have played a significant role in the industry in Canada – from standard bred and thoroughbred racing, showing in both western and English pleasure classes, breeding and raising draft horses for show or chores, and of course, competing in the sport of rodeo. The Virden Indoor Rodeo, now into its 26th year, continues a tradition of hosting equine events of various disciplines.

The rodeo committee has established a “Horsemen’s Hall of Fame” to honour some of the people who have made an exemplary contribution as breeders, promoters, organizers, by achievements in competition, or in countless other ways.



2023 AWARD Shawne Hagan
2022 AWARD Faye and Daryl Horn
2019 AWARD Kim and Grant Gee
2018 AWARD Cathy Gerrand and Duncan Campbell
2017 AWARD Everett More
2016 AWARD Jim and Elaine Hyde
2015 AWARD Rick and Paddy White
2014 AWARD Doug Sexsmith
2013 AWARD Geraldine Fowler
2012 AWARD Morris Clarke
2011 AWARD Lyle Brown
2010 AWARD Darrell Nolan
2009 AWARD Sherald Joynt
2007 AWARD Donna Hunter
2006 AWARD Wilf Dryden / Murray Peel
2005 AWARD Betty Joseph / Don Gee


Ron & Merle Coleman Arnie Andrews Ray Dryden
Dino Fontana Ken Brown Don Brown
Don Brown Bea Lowe Wilf Van Loo
Bob and Arlene Ross Jack and Carol Forsyth Betty Joseph
Wilf Dryden Donna Hunter Darryl Nolan
Orville Fowler John Clarke Bill and Pearl Brown
Lloyd Robinson Stu Taylor George Sproat
Ken Horn Vern MacFarlane Bill and Gail McQuaker
Ed Page Don and Marg Gee Murray Peel
Cecil Brown Sherald Joynt Lyle Brown